Today I spotted an article about a local wine seller of considerable reputation.
I’m hardly the first person to point out the parallels between the tea and wine world (though I think the former tends to be far more aware of making the connection to the latter than vice versa, especially as the latter has tended to be almost entirely Euro and Western-centric), but I thought there were some interesting words in here that are fairly applicable to the tea savant. Namely,

It amuses Lynch that, for instance, he has been pegged as a proponent of so-called natural wines. In his new epilogue, he suggests that such wines’ proponents “in their zeal leave their palates behind.”

“People don’t realize that I made it a point not to have a philosophy, but to first consider the wine in the glass,” he says. “To sit around, arguing it like religion, doesn’t interest me at all.”

and

He prefers to frame his work differently. Having fallen in love with European wine during his 1970s travels, he wondered why so many Americans who made similar journeys would return and wonder why the wines they swooned over abroad didn’t taste as good back home.

“A lot of my career,” he says, “has been figuring out why it doesn’t taste the same.”

Should ring a few bells for anyone who has thought about storage w/r/t to puer. Most pertinently, from a separate article I came across,

“So many people say, ‘I’d love to put some wines away to age, but I don’t have the money for those types of wines.’ You don’t need to be buying expensive wines to age!” He contends that there are plenty of very affordable wines (as in, under $20) that would absolutely benefit from aging.

 

 

