This little guy gives me the creeps.

Outdoor art from an exhibit at the Museum of Contemporary Art (every “modern” city’s gotta have one, right?)

This is a video still from one of my favorite pieces at the museum, by a Japanese artist.  Basically it’s 5 minutes of two Japanese guys dressed up as Ronald McDonald and Colonel Sanders feeding each other their respective bags of “food” in strange silence.  Brilliant.  The adjacent frame, with some weird yellow dog face puppet thing was my favorite video. I don’t really know how to describe it, but imagine a bunch of creatures with that face all performing some kind of vaguely Buddhist/Shinto ceremony, and then meeting up with some Strider-like character in the forest at night, who they then embrace.  Yup.

Taiwan has plenty of good fruit.

And plenty of gloppy looking stuff next to big melons.

These two were having a real ball when I caught up to them.

Typical side-street scene. That sign belongs to an Indonesian restaurant; the Javanese make up a small but visible immigrant community here in Taipei.

 

I like this one–the mishmash of faded ads and posters creates a kind of noir-feel to the outside of this salon.  Very reminiscent of Chinatown/Little Saigon. Around Zhongshan.

 

Some of the weird public art in the Main-station-Zhongshan-Shuanglian artist-alley corridor.

 

This one’s kinda cool.

 

Hello, my name is Frank, I am a good friend, I am a special friend, a very good friend, a special friend, a good friend..

 

The infamous “Black Man” toothpaste.  Not in Berkeley anymore.

 

I wish I could remember what cafe it was that had these whimsical little cutouts on the wall.

This picture, taken inside a 7-11 says a lot about Taiwan.  7-11s are literally on just about every corner in Taipei, and Taiwan is a big manufacturer of folding bicycles, it seems, which are useful the dense cityscape.  Notice how it’s just parked inside the store.  Scooters are much more ubiquitous than bicycles, and are parked pretty much anywhere.

This was often my breakfast back when I was living in the hostel, my first month in Taipei/Taiwan: 蘿蔔糕加兩個單-fried turnip cake with two eggs.  If you find a place that makes it not too oily, it’s pretty tasty.  Seeing as how I’m not supposed to eat wheat anymore, this is just about my only real option at most breakfast places–the other offerings are mainly bread and various types of dumplings.

You see a lot more “be careful” kind of social messages/government nannying than you’d ever encounter in an American city.  This is at the Dadaocheng Wharf, on the western edge of Taipei city, along the river.   There are cycling and running paths, and little parks sprinkled throughout.  Apparently you need to be careful of slipping, bumping into rocks, falling off the edge, and getting married.

 

Ignoring the fact that #1&#2 are often mutually exclusive with #3&#4, let’s end on a positive note!

