Image

This is a very good tea. It does not have the penetrating depth of the Gua Feng Zhai, but it is more long-lasting, interestingly enough. (The candle that burns brighter…?) When I drank the Gua Feng Zhai, it reminded me of Dan Cong, so being the oolong minded-man that I am, I am going to say that drinking this Gao Shan Zhai very much reminds me of 台灣高山茶 (Taiwanese high mountain oolong)–if it came from relatively old tea trees (not more recent plantation bushes, more the case with Taiwanese tea, to my knowledge), and was made into puer. It has the subtle yet distinctive sweet roundness of such teas, and reminds me most of the the very cool-mountainness of certain 梨山 (Lishan–Which, I don’t know why we just don’t say “Pear Mountain.” Whatever.) If it were made into puer and came from older tea trees.

It starts off slowly but really continues to evolve for quite awhile. Overall, I probably still prefer the distinctive *oomph* of the GFZ, but if you want a long and satisfying session (and I usually do, nowadays), look no further. This one could age even better, I hypothesize, due to its wider, evolving, non-linear qualities.

Why else does this tea remind me of TW HM oolong? The leaves are large, and have that same smooth, buttery texture, are nice and green, and can often be found several on a twig. Are there other factors? Is it just because they’re both grown in high places? Ecology is endlessly fascinating.  And tasty!

