20131216-112924.jpg

This is my newest piece. The map was an insert at the back of a copy of Things Japanese, by Basil Hall Chamberlain, a British Professor who spent more than 30 years living in Japan in the late 1800s, doing pioneering work in languages and translation. The book was first published in 1890. I bought it for $6 from Green Apple Books, and I suspect it was  touched by few hands in the time it was  housed there. My edition is a printing of a revision made in 1904, and I have found immense joy and depth in it. The book is a sort of encyclopedia of..Things Japanese, just about anything you can think of, and is executed with great wit and insight. Many of his observations are practically unchanged from ones I and others have made about the Japanese character and way of doing things more than 100 years later. Uncanny.

